Our People

strauss team

Our Team

The Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life’s mission is to educate, inspire, and connect the next generation of Texas civic leaders. The collective expertise of our team allows us to build dynamic leaders through civic innovation, political skills and inclusive values.


Maria headshot

Maria Tway, MA

Administrative Manager


Bianca Solis

Manager of Collegiate Programs


Victoria Soderman

Senior Events Program Coordinator


Sarah Batson

TX Votes Program Coordinator

Student Staff

Adelaide Escott

ASI Summer Intern


Sandra Mata

ASI Summer Intern


Bailey Inglish

ASI Summer Intern

Faculty Collaborators

Jennifer Adair, Education
Patrick Bixler, LBJ School
Josh Blank, Texas Politics Project
Joe Cutbirth, Communication
John Daly, Communication
Meme Drumwright, Communication
Suchi Gururaj, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement
Jim Henson, Government
Peniel Joseph, LBJ School
Dave Junker, Advertising & Public Relations
Robert Luskin, Government
Art Markman, Psychology
Gina Masullo, Journalism & Media
Matt McGlone, Communication
Katherina Payne, Education
Richard Reddick, Education
Stephen Reese, Communication
Nancy Schiesari, Radio Television Film
Daron Shaw, Government
Ya’Ke Smith, Radio Television Film
Bartholomew Sparrow, Government
David Springer, LBJ School
Keri Stephens, Communication
Sean Theriault, Government
Paul Toprac, Computer Science
S. Craig Watkins, Journalism & Media
Stephen Vladeck, Law, LBJ School
Hannah Wojciehowski, English

Advisory Council

Co-Chairs Rodney Schlosser & Denise Davis


Honorary Council Members

*  Former Co-Chair             ♦ Deceased