Theodore H. Strauss Civic Internship Award

ted strauss

Theodore H. Strauss Civic Internship Award

The University of Texas at Austin undergraduate students are invited to apply for The Ted Strauss Civic Internship Award provided by the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life, Moody College of Communication, to supplement their paid or unpaid internship in the fields of public policy, public service, government, or politics for the summer. Previous award winners have worked for CNN, the U.S. Department of Education, the United States Senate, Defenders of Wildlife, the Muscular Dystrophy Association among other organizations and governmental agencies. The goal of this award is to reduce financial barriers to exploring careers in public service and support students by providing additional funding to undergraduate students.


The internship must be in the area of public policy, public service, government, or politics. Must be an undergraduate and not be graduating before December 2022. The internship must be a minimum of 10 hours a week for 10 weeks and must not include more than 25% clerical work. Course credit is preferred, but not required. The recipients will be expected to write a summary of their experience and to make a brief oral report, if requested, at the Annette Strauss Institute's advisory council meeting following their internship experience.

Stipend Award



Check back for May 2023 application

2022 Recipients

Alex Acosta, Zachary Krankauer Ganz, Emma Pham, Olivia Richert

2021 Recipients

Rajit Gulhati, Ezinne Iwuanyanwu, Emily Layton, Breanna Lozano, Tesa Muzquiz, Alexzandra Roman, Janae Steggall

Past Winners

Contact Info

2504 A Whitis Avenue (R2000)
Austin, TX 78712